

INTRODUCTION TO THE TEAMS AND RIDERS TO WATCH FOR

Garmin-Transitions

Ryder Hesjedal, 7th overall in the Tour de France, and the first Canadian Top 10 finisher in the Grande Boucle since Steve Bauer in 1988, will be looking to shine in front of the home crowd.

Euskaltel-Euskadi

This team is made up almost entirely of cyclists from the Basque Country. **Samuel Sánchez**, Gold Medalist at the Beijing Olympics, narrowly missed the podium in this year's Tour de France.

Rabobank

The orange-garbed team brings a 100% Dutch line-up to Québec and Montréal, led by **Robert Gesink,** a 24-year-old full of promise who finished 6th overall in the 2010 Tour de France, and solid lieutenants like **Joost Posthuma** and **Bram Tankink**.

Team RadioShack

Lance Armstrong's team fields a strong entry, featuring the backbone of the squad that competed in the Tour de France, including **Levi Leipheimer** (USA), 3rd overall in the 2007 Tour and Bronze Medalist in the Individual Time Trial in Beijing, **Janez Brajkovic** (Slovenia), winner of the 2010 Critérium du Dauphiné, and **Sergio Paulinho** (Portugal), who won a stage in this year's Tour de France and was a Silver Medalist in Athens in 2004 and **Yaroslav Popovych** (Ukraine), former top 3 on the Tour of Italy.

Liquigas-Doimo

This Italian squad will be counting on **Ivan Basso**, who won this year's Giro d'Italia but faded in the Tour de France, but also on this past spring's sensation, 20-year-old **Peter Sagan** of Slovakia, who won two stages of the Paris-Nice race, two in the Tour of California and one in the Tour de Romandie. He has the perfect profile for the Québec City and Montréal courses.

Team Quick Step

The Belgian team will rely on Frenchman Sylvain Chavanel, a two-time stage winner and yellow jersey wearer in the 2010 Tour de France, but also on his henchman Jérôme Pineau, a stage winner in the Giro d'Italia, as well as skilled Belgian riders like Kevin Seeldraeyers, Kevin Hulsmans and Jürgen Van de Walle.

Team Sky

This British-backed team has a hefty budget, and is competing on the ProTour circuit for the first time this year. They'll be out to avenge a showing in the Tour de France that didn't live up to their goals. **Edvald Boasson Hagen**, a 23-year-old Norwegian, is definitely one of the rising stars of the peloton, with more than thirty victories to his credit already, including Gent-Wevelgem in 2009 and a stage win in this year's Critérium du Dauphiné.

FDJ

Managed by former French champion Marc Madiot, FDJ is a team with panache. Sandy Casar won one of the toughest stages of this year's Tour de France, in the Alps. He'll have support from climber Rémy di Gregorio, as well as Anthony Geslin.

Team Saxo Bank

The Denmark-based team is one of the strongest in the world. On the challenging Montréal and Québec City loops, the indefatigable 38-year-old German veteran **Jens Voigt,** always game to break away from the pack, could run away with it all.

Team Katusha

Russia's ProTour team, founded by former champion Andrei Tchmil, has long-term ambitions. His key riders in the Grand Prix will be pocket-sized climber **Alexander Bocharov**, the Hungarian-born Frenchman **László Bodrogi**, and Russia's **Evgeni Petrov**, 11th in the Giro d'Italia this year and U23 World Champion in 2000.

AG2R LA MONDIALE

This French team, helmed by Vincent Lavenu since 1992, has what it takes to shine, with Martin Elmiger, the reigning Swiss National Road Race Champion; Cyril Dessel, a past yellow jersey wearer in the Tour de France who has things to prove after not being selected for this year's Grande Boucle; Dimitri Champion, the 2009 French National Road Race Champion; climber John Gadret; and young Maxime Bouet, who won a stage in the recent Tour de l'Ain.

Lampre-Farnese Vini

Damiano Cunego, nicknamed the "Little Prince" of Italian cycling, is a first-rate climber-puncheur. Victorious in Giro d'Italia in 2004 and a three-time winner of the Giro di Lombardia, he should find the Québec City and Montréal courses to his liking.

Team HTC-Columbia

This U.S.-based team just picked up its 50th victory of the season. Belgian climber **Maxime Monfort** will be a key asset in the Canadian races.

Caisse d'Epargne

The Spanish outfit will be under new sponsorship in 2011. Miguel Indurain's former squad boasts experienced riders such as Spain's Road Race Champion José Iván Gutiérrez and Pablo Lastras.

Team MILRAM

Germany's Team MILRAM has a solid line-up, with **Gerald Ciolek**, former yellow jersey winner **Linus Gerdemann**, and Dutch National Road Race Champion **Niki Terpstra**.

Astana Cycling Team

The Kazakhstan-based team, winners of the Tour de France with Alberto Contador, are looking to finish out their season strongly. Italy's **Paolo Tiralongo**, one of the Spaniard's most valuable supporters in July, will have a clear shot, assisted by four Kazakh riders.

Omega Pharma-Lotto

This Belgium-based team is quick to respond to attacks, and in Australia's **Matthew Lloyd**, who was the top climber in this year's Giro d'Italia and also won a stage, they have a rider tailor-made for the Montréal and Québec City courses.

Footon-Servetto-Fuji

With a rebuilt and rejuvenated line-up, the Spanish team could engineer a surprise. They'll be counting on riders like Denmark's **Martin Pedersen**.

Bbox Bouygues Telecom

This French squad isn't part of the UCI ProTour, but will be in Canada with almost the same line-up as in this year's Tour de France: France's National Road Race Champion and a stage winner in the Tour, **Thomas Voeckler**, **Pierrick Fedrigo** (also a Tour stage winner) and **Anthony Charteau**, the Tour polka-dot jersey winner as Best Climber, will all be here, as will **Yukiya Arashiro**, who in 2009 was one of the first two Japanese nationals to complete the Grande Boucle.

BMC Racing Team

BMC may not have a UCI ProTour licence, but with a leader like **Alessandro Ballan** (Italy), the 2008 World Champion, as well as **George Hincapie**, Lance Armstrong's favourite lieutenant and current U.S. National Road Race Champion, the Swiss team cuts a fine figure.

Cofidis

Based in the north of France, Cofidis is a team of *baroudeurs*—combative fighters who can stay near the front and make their move when it counts—like **Julien El Fares, Damien Monier**, winner of a stage in the Giro d'Italia, **Mickaël Buffaz**, who recently won Paris-Corrèze, and the tireless **Stéphane Augé**.

Note that the peloton comprises nine reigning National Road Racing Champions:

Will Routley (Canada)
Nicki Sorensen (Denmark)
David Gutiérrez (Spain)
Thomas Voeckler (France)
Maxim Gourov (Kazakhstan)
Niki Terpstra (Netherlands)
Gorazd Stangelj (Slovenia)
Martin Elmiger (Switzerland)
George Hincapie (USA)

Best climber at the 2010 Tour de France:

Anthony Charteau (FRA), Bbox Bouygues Telecom

Stage winner at the 2010 Tour de France 2010:

Sylvain Chavanel (FRA)
Team Quick Step (2 stages)
Thomas Voeckler (FRA)
Bbox Bouygues Telecom
Bergio Paulinho (POR)
RadioShack
FDJ